Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Applicants Announced for OJCC Vacancies

The Statewide Judicial Nominating Commission will meet November 1, 2016 in Orlando. The meeting will be at the Doubletree Hotel, Orlando Airport, 5555 Hazeltine National Dr. Orlando, FL 32812. 

Their business includes interviewing nine (9) Judges of Compensation Claims (JCC’s) for reappointment: Hon. Wilbur Anderson (DAY), Hon. Diane Beck (SAR), Hon. Gerardo Castiello (MIA), Hon. M. Renee Hill (GNS), Hon. Margret Kerr (MIA), Hon. Daniel Lewis (FTL), Hon. Mark Massey (TPA), Hon. Stephen Rosen (SPT), and Hon. Thomas Sculco (ORL). 

The Commission will not ordinarily grant any requests for personal appearances to speak in favor of any of the above sitting Judges. However, the Committee will accept letters in support of the current Judges as long as they are delivered to the Commission Chairman and to Lisa Mustain, Division of Administrative Hearings by Tuesday, October 18, 2016, 5:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time. Since the application deadline was extended, it is possible that late correspondence may be accepted. 

Also, there are three vacancies for which nominations need to be made: to replace Hon. Mary D’Ambrosio upon retirement (West Palm Beach); to replace Hon. W. James Condry upon retirement (position will be in Lakeland); to replace Hon. Charles Hill upon retirement (Miami). 

The application process was supposed to conclude on October 7, 2016. However, that week we had an unwelcome and uninvited Hurricane Matthew cruising up the east coast. That week, the OJCC had 11 of 17 offices closed for various parts of the week. The University of Florida cancelled a football game against Louisiana State. Even Disney World closed the parks due to the weather threat. As a result, the Commission Chair extended the application deadline through October 14, 2016. 

The volume of applications was lower that I had hoped. 

For Lakeland, the applicants are:

Lawrence Anzalone, who has practiced since 1981. A graduate of T.M. Cooley School of Law, he is currently working at Burnetti P.A. in Lakeland. 

Robert Arthur has practiced since 1992. Rob graduated from the Case Western Reserve University School of Law. He is currently the state mediator in Lakeland District. 

Mark Capron has practiced since 1994. He is a graduate of Marshall-Wythe School of Law and is currently a sole practitioner in Lakeland. 

Juliana Curtis, who has practiced since 1998. She is a Stetson graduate, and is currently working for Vecchio, Carrier, Feldman and Johannessen in Lakeland. 

For Miami, the applicants are:

Walter Havers has practiced since 2003. He graduated from the Florida State College of Law, and is currently one of the state mediators in Miami District. 

Jeffrey Jacobs has practiced since 1986. He is a Miami University School of Law graduated. He is a partner in the firm of Malca and Jacobs in Miami. 

For West Palm Beach, the applicants are:

Jeffrey Breslow has practiced since 1983. Jeffrey graduated the University of Miami law school. He is currently one of the state mediators in Ft. Lauderdale District. 

Jill Forman has practiced since 1999. She is a University of Florida College of Law graduate. She is currently an associate attorney at Pallo, Marks, Hernandez, Gechijan and DeMay in Palm Beach Gardens. 

Jeffrey Jacobs has practiced since 1986. He is a Miami University School of Law graduated. He is a partner in the firm of Malca and Jacobs in Miami. 

Marydenyse Ommert has practiced since 1999. She is a graduate of St. Thomas University School of Law. She is currently senior associate at Hernandez, Hicks &Valois in Ft. Lauderdale. 

Ken Schwartz has practiced since 2001. He graduated from University of Hawaii school of law. He is currently a sole practitioner in Boca Raton. 

Carol Stephenson has practiced since 1983. She graduated from the University of Cincinnati School of Law. She currently works as legal counsel for Liberty Mutual Insurance Company.

The Commission will meet telephonically on Monday, October 24, 2016 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time This meeting will be to discuss any procedural issues of the Commission specifically for the November 1, 2016 meeting. This telephonic commission meeting will be open to the public by dialing 888.670.3525, and entering code number 249 217 2867# when prompted prompted.

No comments:

Post a Comment